Friday night was music night

After an interesting day when Helen introduced me to some people who had visited her at school, I had a very musical night last night ….

I am gradually making my way through a lovely set of landmarks given to me by Groovy Winkler .. a nice mix of edutainment.  (IM me for the list]Sometimes I can’t see anyone when I teleport somewhere, but I have now learnt to look at my map, locate all the green dots which represent life, then open my minimap to fly around and join them.

First stop was a night club in Courcheval where a friendly DJ personalised it all by greeting newcomers by name and explaining how to click on the dance ball above his head to get moving.  I chose the ‘dance in sync’ option.  It was so much fun to see the way the crowd managed to ‘sing along’ or rather ‘text along’ to the songs .. there was a great community feel to the place, and I got to try out my French.  Many of the songs chosen were Michael Jackson ones.  Helen told me that she went to a MJ concert in Milton Keynes years ago, and could not help but get swept up in the mania.  I left a little tip, and again was thanked personally.

Next stop: Milano.  In true Italian-style, there was a free concert going on in the large open square .. and what a concert!  Maximillion Kleene enchanted us all with his beautiful, tuneful voice, and skillful guitar playing, performing a wide range of music, some of which you would never have believed would suit solo guitar + voice, but somehow he made it work. He *said* he was in Niagara Falls .. but he looked as if he was with us in Milano!   It was so good, I had to invite my good friends Luis, Gizmo and Marisolde along.  Marisolde interacted verbally in a very entertaining way!  I wish I were as bold and witty as she is!  Amusingly, Maximillion’s tip jar is a figure of a cow which literally ‘tips over’ as you add money. I had to leave a group in order to join his fan club (you’re only allowed 25 groups in SL) .. but it will be worth it.

There was a slightly frustrating end to the evening though when I failed to speak with Gizmo… the reason was discovered by Helen’s long-suffering techie the next day .. somehow the audio / volume / recording control had slipped to ‘wave out mix’ rather than microphone .. hence why Gizmo could not hear me.

Next post: what happened on Saturday!

3 responses to “Friday night was music night

  1. for what I read around you are becoming a music venue expert in SL. I will ask for some landmarks ;o))
    Have fun!
    anna (begonia)

    • I will follow Max to the ends of the SL earth …!! Will send you details – I have joined a group called Rhythm and Movement (I think) which sends me really useful notices.

      While you’re here Anna, can I pick your brains re: wordpress? I thought I had set it so that after one ‘approval’ message people did not need any more approval .. but I must have made a mistake, as this had to be approved. Any clues?!

  2. and why doesn;t my avatar show next to my post? (tanti domandi!! scusi!)

Leave a Reply

