Happy Birthday, Dear Crow Bar, Happy Birthday 2 You

Chilling at the crow bar

My absolute favourite haunt for music and off-beat, random humour, is C&L’s ‘Crow Bar’. As it gets ready to celebrate its second birthday this evening, I thought I’d write a little tribute post to its owners and regulars, fully expecting to get serious backlash over being such a creepy, goody-goody. This is, after all, the role I assume at the Crow Bar, where my innocent, positive and pink demeanour rather stands out against the backcloth of knowing, cynical and dark humour!

So …

Karelia looks up to Lyndy

Thank you Lyndy .. you are so generous in the time you give to make sure that there is always a welcome for everyone at the bar .. . you have a real gift for witty repartee .. … you are calm and measured in times of stress (like when I didn’t have any music at the start of a party, and you just sorted everything out and instructed me to be calm) .. you are the perfect reliable and trusty ‘listener’ (I cannot help but confide in you!) .. and you continue to accept me, even though I have habits which irritate you intensley .. (like saying ‘sorry’ all the time!). Quite simply the best ‘hostess’ in the whole of SL (and you’ll probably kill me for saying this).

Karelia looks up to Clive (a bit)

Thank you Clive … I’m just amazed that I have survived this long on your friends list, knowing your antipathy for things pink. I used to change my hair or wear a hat, but now I boldy continue to flout my pinkness, and you continue to tolerate me. I was so grateful for all the time you spent sorting out my internet radio and channels, and I love the spinning globe you gave me. May you enjoy many more years and gadgets in SL!

Karelia admires Ooj from a distance

Lyndy and Clive do great DJ-ing, but thanks also to the other regular DJs who produce such great play lists … Shell & Ronni (great, loud sets!) …Oojali (such an enigmatic, distant yet compelling man!) … Doc Bunyip (a real eye opener to folk music) … Kev (such a sweet man!) .. June (a great international mix and a very talented artist) .. and the rest!

And thanks to the regulars who entertain me with their comments .. amongst them, Socrates (the wise good-looking blond who introduced me to the club in the first place and did GREAT DJ-ing at a language event)

Hope, the Queen of Dances

 ..… Hope (who generously shares her dances via the huddles hud!)  …Blowie (my long lost brother .. so proud to be your big sis!) … Bozo (introduced me to some great dances ..) … Fabilène (my style guru and great French friend) … Duke & Ivanava (thanks for giving me a glimpse into the amazing dragon world!) Gia & Eddy, Fawn & Don (thanks for inviting me to your weddings!) …Lophius & Verena (thanks for the German poetry!) Dubble, John, Penfold and Brevis (great to see you at the start of this evening!)

Off to party now … watch this space for a birthday photo!

Karelia looks into Duke

And here are some piccies o fthe LOVELY evening .. we all dressed up beautifully I think!  More photos will be on Flickr soon …

John

Shell & Ronni

Socrates

Karelia (on the left)

Duke as a tree

The Jelly Bean Girls

The Jelly Bean Girls return ...

Leave a comment