The Way I am – Tuesday 21st August 2012 – Musica in Classe

Thanks to Loris Talon for choosing this week’s beautiful short song: ‘The Way I am’ by Ingrid Michaelson. (And thanks to him for all the wonderful translations he does every week!)

I know a lot of people are on holiday, and it may be too hot in Italy for anyone to be able to bear sitting in front of a computer screen, but if you have nothing better to do and you would like to practise your English pronunciation, feel free to come to Italian Mood on Tuesday 21st August at 2130 Italian time (2030 UK time).  It’s a short class (especially this time as it is a short song!), but you can arrive late and/or leave early .. no problem!

Here are some links if you would like to ‘shine’ in class!

The YouTube Video

The Lyrics (copied and pasted below)

Sheet music download

“The Way I Am”

If you were falling, then I would catch you.
You need a light, I’d find a match.
Cause I love the way you say good morning.
And you take me the way I am.
If you are chilly, here take my sweater.
Your head is aching, I’ll make it better.
Cause I love the way you call me baby.
And you take me the way I am.
I’d buy you Rogaine when you start losing all your hair.
Sew on patches to all you tear.
Cause I love you more than I could ever promise.
And you take me the way I am.
You take me the way I am.
You take me the way I am.

 

(And, by the way, anyone who knows me will be aware that this song could not be written by me.  I drop things, I lose things and I do not know how to sew patches!)

Leave a Reply

