The Wedding – Tuesday 11th September – Musica in Classe

Tuesday 11th September| 2130 Italian time |2030 UK time |1230 SL time |Italian Mood, Second Life (IM me for a TP if you get lost!)

This week, Volando has pleaded with us to do a different type of song, and she has suggested ‘The Wedding” .. so you are all invited to get dressed up in whatever you feel is appropriate (brides, grooms, bridesmaids,  vicars, photographers, emotional familes, jilted lovers, choristers etc) or just come as you are, ready to pronounce and possibly sing with us!

After a group photo in wedding formation (!) we will listen to the Italian equivalent song, but with a twist.  We can discuss our interpreation of the words!

Thanks as ever to Loris Talon for translating the words for us!

The Wedding – Julie Rogers

You by my side, that’s how I see us,
I close my eyes, and I can see us,
We’re on our way to say I do-oo
My secret dreams have all come true-oo.
Tu al mio fianco, è così che vedo noi
Chiudo gli occhi, e vedo noi
Siamo pronti per dire si
I miei sogni segreti sono tutti realizzati.

I see the church, I see the people,
Your folks and mine happy and smiling,
And I can hear sweet voices singing,
Ave Maria.
Vedo la chiesa, vedo la gente
I tuoi genitori e i miei felici e sorridenti
E posso udire dolci voci che cantano
Ave Maria

Oh my love, my love this can really be
That someday you’ll walk down the aisle with me,
Let it be, make it be that I’m the one for you,
I’ll be yours, all yours, now and forever.
Oh amore mio, amore mio questo può realmente accadere
che un giorno camminerai lungo la navata con me.
Lascia che succeda, fai che succeda che io sia l’unica per te
Sarò tua, tutta tua, ora e per sempre.

I see us now, your hand in my hand,
This is the hour, this is the moment,
And I can hear sweet voices singing,
Ave Maria. Ave Maria, Ave Mari-i-a.
Ave Maria. Ave Maria, Ave Mari-i-a
Vedo noi ora, la tua mano nella mia mano
questa è l’ora, questo è il momento,
E posso udire dolci voci che cantano
Ave Maria. Ave Maria, Ave Mari-i-a.
Ave Maria. Ave Maria, Ave Mari-i-a

La Novia – Tony Dallara

Bianca e splendente va la Novia
mentre, nascosto tra la folla,
dietro una lacrima indecisa,
vedo morir le mie illusioni.
White and resplendent goes the bride
meanwhile, hidden amongst the crowd
behind an indecisive tear
I see my illusions die

La sull’altar lei sta piangendo.
Tutti diranno che è di gioia,
mentre il suo cuore sta gridando:
Ave Maria!
There at the altar she is crying
All will say that it is with joy
meanwhile her heart is shouting:
Ave Maria!

Mentirai perché tu dirai di si.
Pregherai per me ma dirai di si.
Io so, tu non puoi dimenticare.
Non soffrir per me anima mia.
You will lie because you will say yes
you will pray for me but you will say yes
I know you cannot lie
don’t suffer for me my soul

La sull’altar lei sta piangendo.
Tutti diranno che è di gioia,
mentre il suo cuore sta gridando:
Ave Maria! / Ave Maria! / Ave Maria!
There at the altar she is crying
All will say that it is with joy
meanwhile her heart is shouting:
Ave Maria! / Ave Maria! / Ave Maria!

Leave a Reply

