Diamonds are forever -Musica in Classe – Tuesday 18th September 2012


Tuesday 18th September| 2130 Italian time |2030 UK time |1230 SL time |Italian Mood, Second Life (IM me for a TP if you get lost!)

It’s Burlesque night in Italian Mood on Tuesday, and in preparation for the show, we will be practising one of the shortest  songs from the programme: Diamonds are Forever – as interpreted by Shirley Bassey for the James Bond film.  So, if you fancy reflecting the theme with diamonds, Shirley Bassey outfits or James Bond attire,  feel free to do so!

Whether you want to learn English or Italan .. this evening is for YOU!  The format of the evening has now evolved to what is called ‘tandem learning’ in the pedagogical trade!  I pronounce the English, Marjorie pronounces the Italian, you repeat in whichever language you are learning, and we help you to ‘refine’ your pronunciation, giving lavish praise whenever we can! (Although I cannot help noticing that Marjorie has her teacher’s pets; Rob with his cool American accent DEFINITELY gets more praise than I do with my Queen’s English accent .. I can’t think why …).

Many many thanks, grazie mille to Loris, who has provided the following translation.  He’d love to provide a poetic, ‘flowing’ translation (-and he is really really good at this…), but I am afraid that I have put my bossy  teacher’s foot down, and insisted upon a literal translation in order to help learners to match the words more easily.  Sorry, mi dispiace, Loris .. 🙂

Here are words for those who want to really concentrate on pronunciation rather than comprehenson during the class itself.

Diamonds are forever,
They are all I need to please me,
They can stimulate and tease me,
They won’t leave in the night,
I’ve no fear that they might desert me.
I diamanti sono per sempre,
Sono tutto quello di cui ho bisogno per accontentarmi,
Mi possono stimolare e stuzzicare,
Non se ne andranno via nella notte,
Non ho nessuna paura che mi possano abbandonare.

Diamonds are forever,
Hold one up and then caress it,
Touch it, stroke it and undress it,
I can see every part,
Nothing hides in the heart to hurt me.
I diamanti sono per sempre,
Portane uno e poi carezzalo,
Toccalo, liscialo e spoglialo,
Posso vedere ogni parte,
Niente si nasconde nel cuore che mi faccia male.

I don’t need love,
For what good will love do me?
Diamonds never lie to me,
For when love’s gone,
They’ll luster on.
Non ho bisogno di amore,
Per quale vantaggio avrei bisogno di amore,
I diamanti non mi mentono mai,
Perché quando l’amore non c’è più,
Loro luccicheranno ancora

Diamonds are forever,
Sparkling round my little finger.
Unlike men, the diamonds linger;
Men are mere mortals who
Are not worth going to your grave for.
I diamanti sono per sempre,
Scintillanti attorno al mio dito mignolo.
A differenza degli uomini, i diamanti durano;
Gli uomini sono meri mortali
Per cui non vale la pena di andare al cimitero

I don’t need love,
For what good will love do me?
Diamonds never lie to me,
For when love’s gone,
They’ll luster on.
Non ho bisogno di amore,
Per quale vantaggio avrei bisogno di amore,
I diamanti non mi mentono mai,
Perché quando l’amore non c’è più,
Loro luccicheranno ancora

Diamonds are forever, forever, forever.
Diamonds are forever, forever, forever.
Forever and ever.
I diamanti sono per sempre, per sempre, per sempre.
I diamanti sono per sempre, per sempre, per sempre.
Eternamente per sempre.

Leave a Reply

