Until it’s time for you to go – Musica in Classe – Tuesday 2nd October 2012

Musica in Classe: Tuesday 2nd October 2012 2130-2200 Italian time | 2030-2100 UK time | 1230-1300 SL time
|Italian Mood, Second Life (IM me for a TP if you get lost!)

A tear-jerker for this week … come in a romantic, wistful, resigned (possibly not typically Italian?!) mood, armed with tissues! 70s dress optional. We will try out my new bargain-priced photo studio afterwards for the compulsory picture! Thanks to Loris Talon for the sensitive translation.


This is what Buffy said about this song: This song popped into my head while I was falling in love with someone I knew couldn’t stay with me. The words are about honesty and freedom inside the heart.

Translation by Loris Talon:
You’re not a dream,
you’re not an angel,
you’re a man. [woman]
Non sei un sogno,
non sei un angelo,
sei un uomo [una donna].

I’m not a queen,[king]
I’m a woman,[man]
take my hand.
Non sono una regina,[un re]
sono una donna,[un uomo]
prendimi per mano.

We’ll make a space
in the lives
that we’d planned,
Faremo posto
nelle vite
che avevamo progettato,

and here we’ll stay
until it’s time
for you to go.
e ci staremo
fino a che sarà tempo
per te di andare.

Yes we’re different
worlds apart
we’re not the same.
Si siamo diversi
due mondi a parte,
non siamo uguali.

We laughed and played
at the start
like in a game.
Abbiamo riso e ci
siamo divertiti all’inizio
come in un gioco.

You could’ve stayed
outside my heart
but in you came,
Avresti potuto stare
fuori dal mio cuore
ma ci sei entrato [entrata],

and here you’ll stay
until it’s time
for you to go.
e ci resterai
fino a che sarà tempo
per te di andare.

Don’t ask why,
don’t ask how,
don’t ask forever,
love me now.
Non chiedere perchè,
non chiedere come,
non chiedere per sempre,
Amami ora.

This love of mine
had no beginning
It has no end.
Questo mio amore
non ha avuto un inizio
non ha una fine.

I was an oak,
now I’m a willow
now I can bend,
Ero una quercia,
ora sono un salice,
ora posso piegarmi,

and though I’ll never
in my life
see you again,
e anche se mai
nella mia vita
ti rivedrò di nuovo,

still I’ll stay
until it’s time
for you to go.
resterò ancora
fino a che sarà tempo
per te di andare.

Don’t ask why of me,
don’t ask how of me
don’t ask forever of me,
love me, love me now.
Non chiedere a me il perchè,
non chiedere a me il come,
non chiedere a me il sempre,
amami, amami ora.

You’re not a dream,
you’re not an angel,
you’re a man. [woman]
Non sei un sogno,
non sei un angelo,
sei un uomo [una donna].

I’m not a queen,[king]
I’m a woman,[man]
take my hand.
Non sono una regina,[un re]
sono una donna,[un uomo]
prendimi per mano.

We’ll make a space
in the lives
that we’d planned,
Faremo posto
nelle vite
che avevamo progettato,

and here we’ll stay
until it’s time
for you to go.
e ci staremo
fino a che sarà tempo
per te di andare.

Leave a Reply

