If I had a hammer .. Musica in Classe . Tuesday 13th November 2012

Musica in Classe: Tuesday 13th November 2012
2130-2200 Italian time | 2030-2100 UK time | 1230-1300 SL time|
Italian Mood, Second Life (IM me for a TP if you get lost!)

After 3 weeks away from SL through holidays and other commitments, I hope I have not been forgotten!  (3 weeks is a lifetime in SL!).  This week we are going for a nice simple song, with a good tune, easy chords and a wholesome message: If I had a hammer.

As well as translating the song into Italiain, Loris, our resident omnimath, has researched various versions of the song which I include below.  Grazie Loris!

(1) The Weavers’ version (slow and in a key I can manage!)

(2) Peter Paul and Mary’s version (a bit faster .. more politically correct with ‘brothers and sisters’

(3) A very popular but ‘less weighty’version by Rita Pavone:

(4) A French version (not embedded) .. I’ll use this for my next lesson on the ‘conditional’!

(5) Trini Lopez’ verison (I like the ‘ooo’s)

And finally. . the words ..!

If I had a hammer,
I’d hammer in the morning
I’d hammer in the evening,
All over this land
Se avessi un martello
Martellerei al mattino
Martellerei alla sera
Su tutta questa terra

I’d hammer out danger,
I’d hammer out a warning,
I’d hammer out love between my brothers and my sisters,
All over this land.
Martellerei il pericolo,
Martellerei un ammonimento,
Martellerei l’amore tra i miei fratelli e sorelle
Su tutta questa terra

If I had a bell,
I’d ring it in the morning,
I’d ring it in the evening,
All over this land
Se avessi una campana,
Scampanerei al mattino,
Scampanerei la sera,
Su tutta questa terra

I’d ring out danger,
I’d ring out a warning
I’d ring out love between my brothers and my sisters,
All over this land.
Scampanerei il pericolo,
Scampanerei un ammonimento,
Scampanerei l’amore tra i miei fratelli e sorelle,
Su tutta questa terra.

If I had a song,
I’d sing it in the morning,
I’d sing it in the evening,
All over this land
Se avessi una canzone,
La canterei al mattino,
La canterei alla sera,
Su tutta questa terra,

I’d sing out danger,
I’d sing out a warning
I’d sing out love between my brothers and my sisters,
All over this land.
Canterei il pericolo,
Canterei un ammonimento,
Canterei l’amore tra i miei fratelli e sorelle,
Su tutta questa terra.

Well I got a hammer,
And I got a bell,
And I got a song to sing,
All over this land.
Bene ho un martello,
E ho una campana,
E ho una canzone da cantare,
Su tutta questa terra.

It’s the hammer of Justice,
It’s the bell of Freedom,
It’s the song about Love between my brothers and my sisters,
All over this land.
E’ il martello della giustizia,
E’ la campana della libertà,
E’ la canzone sull’amore tra i miei fratelli e sorelle.
Su tutta questa terra.

It’s the hammer of Justice,
It’s the bell of Freedom,
It’s the song about Love between my brothers and my sisters,
All over this land.
E’ il martello della giustizia,
E’ la campana della libertà,
E’ la canzone sull’amore tra i miei fratelli e sorelle.
Su tutta questa terra.

Leave a Reply

