New York New York! Musica in Classe Tuesday 12th March 2013

Musica in Classe: Tuesday 12th March 2013
2130-2200 Italian time | 2030-2100 UK time | 1230-1300 SL time|
Italian Mood, Second Life (IM me for a TP if you get lost!)

The film ‘New York New York’ is a musical tribute to New York. This Tuesday, Musica in Classe will present its own version .. firstly repeating the lines with a perfect English (!) accent .. then hearing an acoustic guitar version from me (cheating by tuning the strings down a semitone so I can use a capo to do the final key change .. but don’t tell anyone ..!) and finally breaking into song together in the style of a Bach fugue. You have been warned!

Here’s the video, and below are the words, skilfully translated into Italian by our resident language expert, Loris Talon!

New York, New York
Liza Minelli

Start spreading the news,
I’m leaving today.
I wanna be a part of it,
New York, New York.
La notizia si va diffondendo,
parto oggi.
Voglio fare parte di lei,
New York, New York

These vagabond shoes,
are longing to stray,
and step around the heart of it
New York, New York
Queste scarpe senza meta,
ardono dal desiderio di girovagare,
e mettere piede attorno al suo cuore
New York, New York

I wanna wake up
in the city, that doesn’t sleep,
to find I’m king of the hill,
top of the heap.
Voglio svegliarmi
nella città che non dorme,
per scoprire che sono il re della collina,
la cima al mucchio

My little town blues,
are melting away.
I’ll make a brand new start of it,
in old New York.
Le tristezze della piccola città
si dilegueranno.
Mi rifarò una nuova vita là,
nella vecchia New York.

If I can make it there,
I’d make it anywhere,
it’s up to you,
New York, New York.
Se ce la facessi là,
ce la farei ovunque,
tocca a te,
New York, New York

New York,
New York.
I want to wake up,
in the city that doesn’t sleep
New York,
New York.
Voglio svegliarmi,
nella città che non dorme

To find I’m king of the hill,
head of the list
cream of the crop
at the top of the heap.
Per scoprire che sono il re della collina,
il primo della lista
la crema della crema
alla cima del mucchio.

My little town blues,
are melting away.
I’ll make a brand new start of it,
In old New York.
Le tristezze della piccola città
si dilegueranno.
Mi rifarò una nuova vita là,
nella vecchia New York.

If I can make it there,
I’ll make it anywhere,
come on, come through,
New York, New York.
Se ce la faccessi là,
ce la farei ovunque,
andiamo, ascoltami
New York, New York

Leave a Reply

