Fly me to the moon (in other words) – Musica in Classe- Tuesday 28th May

Musica in Classe: Tuesday 28th May 2013
2130-2200 Italian time | 2030-2100 UK time | 1230-1300 SL time|
Italian Mood, Second Life (IM me for a TP if you get lost!)

Our favourite Ukulele-player, Amparia, is practising ‘Fly me to the moon’- so we are going to help her this evening!
There are some beautiful versions on YouTube – Songbook is a blog with a page containing practically everything you need to know about the song.

As it is short, we’ll practise Nat King Cole’s version, which has a sweet little introduction:

We can also learn the names of the planets (they are spinning around in our classroom), and practise saying ‘in other words ..’! Who knows, our resident translator, the great physicist Loris Talon, may even have time explain the origins of the universe to us! Let’s end the lesson with a group photo around a moon which I have just discovered in my inventory!

LYRICS

Poets often use many words
To say a simple thing.
It takes thought and time and rhyme
To make a poem sing.
I poeti spesso usano tante parole
Per dire anche la più semplice cosa
Occorrono riflessione, tempo e rima
Per far cantare una poesia.

With music and words I’ve been playing
For you, I have written a song.
To be sure that you’ll know what I’m saying,
I’ll translate as I go along…
Con la musica e le parole che stavo suonando
Per te, ho scritto una canzone.
Per essere sicuro che tu sappia cosa dirò.
La tradurrò mentre procedo…

Fly me to the moon
And let me play among the stars
Let me see what spring is like
On Jupiter and Mars
Fammi volare sulla luna
E fammi giocare tra le stelle
Lasciami vedere come è la primavera
Su Giove o Marte

In other words, hold my hand
In other words, darling, kiss me
In altre parole, prendimi, per mano
In altre parole, cara/caro, baciami

Fill my heart with song
And let me sing for ever more
You are all I long for
All I worship and adore
Riempimi il cuore con una canzone
E lasciami cantare per sempre
Perché tu sei tutto quello che desidero
tutto quello che venero e adoro.

In other words, please be true
In other words, I love you
In altre parole, ti prego sii leale
In altre parole, ti amo

Fill my heart with song
And let me sing for ever more
You are all I long for
All I worship and adore
Riempimi il cuore con una canzone
E lasciami cantare per sempre
Perché tu sei tutto quello che desidero
Tutto quello che venero e adoro.

In other words, please be true
In other words, I love you
In altre parole, ti prego sii leale
In altre parole, Io ti amo

Leave a Reply

